Thursday, 17 January 2013
Counter Strike Global Offensive - Must or Bust?
Being the huge Counter-Strike fan that I am, I was a bit skeptical about playing CSGO when it finally got released. A lot of my friends were playing the beta and said that it has a whole different "feel" than Counter-Strike Source was, and considering the fact that I played over 400 hours of Counter-Strike Source and that I am relatively good at the game, I was scared to jump in the new. For those who do not know what Counter-Strike is, it is a first person shooter online game, where there are two teams, terrorists and counter-terrorist. The goal, depending on which team you are, is to either kill the other team, or complete specific objects given to you. I shall explain what those are in a bit.
So after about 3 months after the game was released, I finally bought it and gave it a try. Playing the training tutorial was pretty good and the feeling wasn't THAT different, but at the same time I was throwing grenades into empty buildings and shooting spring loaded, wood cutouts of terrorist forces that slowly roll across the screen. After that, I was ready. Really excited to go at the world, I jumped on to a quick pub match (public match) on my favorite level from source, cs_office. It was chaos. People running around, shouting in their mics, smoke grenades going off and bullets flying through it with me dying instantly every 2.3 seconds, while I tried to buy a bloody pistol. The layout of office was roughly the same, but at the same time incredibly different! I remember all I could think to myself was "What have they done to my office?!" After about 20 minutes of me running around "trying" to get a kill and my score was already 0-17, so I gave up. I just thought I wasted $15 for a game that I really did not like compared to counter strike source.
So I stopped playing it. It was only because of one of my friends, Zero, that got me to give it another chance. He kept pestering me to play GO with him that I finally gave in and said I would give it a second chance. But this time was different. He introduced me into competitive matches instead of pub matches. The difference there is that competitive matches consist of two, five man teams and you play 30 matches. You can play either hostage mode where terrorists try to stop the counter-terrorists from rescuing the four hostages being held captive, or search and destroy, where the terrorists try to plant a bomb at either the A bomb site or the B bomb site and the counter-terrorist either have to kill them all before they plant or defuse the bomb if it is planted already in a specific time limit. These game modes are also present in pub matches.
Now in order to play competitive matches well, you have to work as a team and estimate the enemies tactics. It is not about how many kills you get, but how many matches you can win as a team. Taking that one small detail away and adding the fact that you have to work as a team made the game WAY more appealing. You have to take your time and play smart. Sure, you still love getting the most kills on your team while also winning a match, but even if you are not playing that well, you can still have a lot of fun being strategic and helping out your teammates with where your enemy is coming from. I highly recommend trying at least one of the three counter strikes out there if you are looking for a good, competitive online fps, but remember, there are people on there that have been playing for more than a decade and they are going to be really good at the game. Don't be discouraged. It takes time, but practice and you will get better. Everyone started from square one at one point in their lives, you can become a pro too if you keep at it!
The first time I played GO I would have given it a 3/10 for just it's pub matches (which is what I only played in source). Then playing it the second time around I would give it a 8-9/10 for a fun, competitive online first person shooter. Good job valve! And thank you Zero for getting me to go at it again!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment